Another Rummage Sale and Oreo Pops

Usually, I’m one to sleep in until 10:30 but today I woke up at 8 to go to my elementary school’s annual enormous rummage sale.  Seriously, it was HUGE.

Vanishing Acts {Jodi Picoult}, Eat, Pray, Love {Elizabeth Gilbert}, and The Pact {Jodi Picoult}.  All in great condition and only 50 cents each!

Jonathan found some action figures for his enormous collection {I’ll save that for another post} and I also found a cute little game called In a Pickle.  I always see it when I go to Target but never wanted to spend the money on it.  Well, this one is barely used and only cost me $3!

After the rummage sale I really wanted to do some kind of indoor activity since it was so hot outside today.  I found a fantastic recipe for Oreo cake pops on Pinterest {thanks to a little delightful} so we went to the store and bought Oreos, cream cheese, and almond bark.

All I had to do was crush up 2 rows of the Oreo cookies and mix them with a small package of cream cheese.  They are seriously delicious but super rich.  After the balls were formed, I put the lollipop sticks in them {as instructed} and let them chill in the fridge for about 20 minutes.  Then, we melted the almond bark and covered the pops with it using a spoon.

My cake pops turned out so ugly…I was sad.  But then I ate one and felt a little better.

Here’s the picture from a little delightful’s blog.  Seriously, how did she get hers to look so perfect?  If anyone can help me out, I’ll repay you in Oreos ;)

What I’ll do different next time:

  • Buy shorter lollipop sticks
  • Make the balls a little bit bigger
  • Put the lollipop sticks in the balls with candy coating on the end of the stick, that way the pop won’t fall off the stick when I’m trying to frost it

Any other suggestions?  If you’ve mastered the perfect cake pop, please tell me your secret!

Leave a Reply

